badbanks.blogg.se

Windows terminal services server ssl vs tls
Windows terminal services server ssl vs tls










windows terminal services server ssl vs tls windows terminal services server ssl vs tls

With respect to Terminal Server, after installing it, there doesnt seem to be any additional snap-ins installed. You might also need to make sure that the "terminal services" service is running.Īs far as Im concerned, checking a box and enabling a service is not an installation. Rather, you only need to enable it by checking the "allow users to connect remotely to this computer" box. I read this statement a lot, but it doesnt seem technically correct.Īs far as I understand, terminal services (now remote desktop) is installed by default. "you connect to a Windows Server 2003 machine, with terminal services installed". Well I suppose what confuses me is when you read statements such as: The amount of sessions allowed for each of the modes (mentioned above)Īlso, if someone knows how to install/configure Terminal Server without licences, please advise!!!

windows terminal services server ssl vs tls windows terminal services server ssl vs tls

Remote Desktop for Administration vs Application Server Mode Is what I have said above essentially correct?Ĭan someone tell me the essential difference between the following: I was suprised by this because I thought there was a 120 day grace period and I did choose the option of "configure licences within 120 days". The error messages were something in the line of "check your server licences" or something similar. I say guessing because, after I tried installing "Terminal Server" (trying both "per device" and "per user" mode), I wasnt able to make a remote connection from other workstations. In theory, I am guessing that the only limitation on the number of sessions with Terminal Server (Application server mode) is the number of licences. Also, under this mode, no licencing is required. With Remote Administration mode, it seems that up to two remote sessions plus the console (interactive) session can be accessed at the same time. Thats when I realised there must be a technical difference between Terminal services (now referred to as Remote Desktop) and Terminal Server. When I go to add/remove Windows components, I can see that "Terminal Server" is not installed. When, I go to "Administrative tools", I have the following tools available: Unfortunately, I am not using a fresh install of Server 2003, so I am not sure what the defaults are. If they are in fact different, I suspect it has something to do with running in "Application mode" vs "Remote Administration mode". I used to think that a terminal server was basically a windows server 2003 machine that had terminal services installed on it, but it seems that is not technically correct. Is there a difference between terminal services and terminal server?












Windows terminal services server ssl vs tls